Quick verdict
Our editorial view: choose Sigma when your users think in spreadsheets (finance, operations, planning), want to build their own analyses on warehouse-scale data with formulas and pivots, and need to enter or adjust data that is saved back to the warehouse. Choose ThoughtSpot when you want business users to ask questions in plain language against a model that analysts govern, with AI agents doing much of the exploration, and when published per-user entry prices help your budgeting. Both run every query in your warehouse, so include warehouse compute in the cost comparison.
Sigma Computing describes itself as "the platform for analytics, applications, and agents", building on "live warehouse data, with governance inherited at the source". Users work in browser-based workbooks with a spreadsheet-like formula interface, tables, pivots, charts and controls; builders can also use SQL and Python. Sigma Help lists connections to Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks, PostgreSQL, AlloyDB, MySQL, Azure SQL Database, SQL Server 2022 and Azure SQL Managed Instance, Starburst, and MotherDuck in beta. Sigma is SaaS only.
ThoughtSpot is an analytics platform where users explore data through natural-language search and the Spotter AI agents, and publish interactive dashboards called Liveboards, over Models that analysts define. ThoughtSpot Cloud's Connections link to about 30 databases and services, including Snowflake, Databricks, BigQuery, Redshift, Azure Synapse, SQL Server, PostgreSQL, Oracle, SAP HANA, Teradata, Trino and ClickHouse, and query them directly. New instances default to Spotter 3, which adds a Research mode and can query several data models in one request.
Both are warehouse-native. Neither copies your data into its own store for analysis: each interaction becomes SQL run in your warehouse. That keeps one source of truth, but on usage-billed warehouses such as Snowflake, BigQuery or Databricks, dashboard and search activity shows up on the warehouse bill. For the wider BI field see Power BI vs Looker and Tableau vs Looker.
Side by side
| Aspect | Sigma Computing | ThoughtSpot |
|---|---|---|
| Primary interface | Spreadsheet-style workbooks with formulas, pivots, charts and controls | Natural-language search and Spotter AI agents; Liveboards for dashboards |
| Query model | Live queries in the connected warehouse | Live queries in the connected database; distinct attribute values fetched every 24 hours by default for search suggestions |
| Data platforms (vendor listed) | Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Databricks, PostgreSQL, AlloyDB, MySQL, Azure SQL, SQL Server 2022, Starburst; MotherDuck beta | About 30, including Snowflake, Databricks, BigQuery, Redshift, Synapse, SQL Server, PostgreSQL, Oracle, SAP HANA, Teradata, Trino, ClickHouse, generic JDBC |
| Modelling | Sigma data models with relationships and metrics | Models built in a Model editor or TML files, with joins, formulas and row-level security |
| Write-back | Input tables save edits to the warehouse (needs write access on the connection) | Not a core feature; aimed at analysis and search |
| AI | Sigma Assistant: ask in plain language; MCP and AI tools | Spotter AI agents (Spotter 3 default), MCP server; ThoughtSpot says it does not meter or charge for LLM tokens |
| Code | SQL and Python for builders | TML for models and objects; Analyst Studio for advanced analytics (Pro) |
| Embedding | Public and secure (JWT-signed) embedding | Visual Embed SDK and REST API; free Developer plan for one year |
| Licensing | Tiered user licences: View, Act, Analyze, Build | Per user (Essentials, Pro, Enterprise) or usage-based credits |
| Published prices | None; by quote | From USD 25 (Essentials) and USD 50 (Pro) per user per month billed annually; Enterprise quoted |
| Trial | 7 days (Sigma Help) | Free trial offered; length not stated on the pricing page |
Key differences
Spreadsheet workbook versus search and AI agents
Sigma starts from a familiar grid. A user picks a warehouse table or data model, adds columns with spreadsheet-style formulas, groups and pivots, and turns the result into charts and controls; Sigma translates each step into SQL for the warehouse. That suits people who would otherwise export to Excel, and in our view it is closest to self-service analysis for finance and operations teams.
ThoughtSpot starts from a question. Users type in plain language and Spotter answers from a governed Model; Spotter Classic translates questions into search tokens for ThoughtSpot's search engine, while Spotter Agent and Spotter 3 add suggested questions, explanations, a Research mode and cross-model search. Answers are pinned to Liveboards for sharing. The quality of answers depends on how well the Models are defined, so the work shifts to analysts who curate them. Note that ThoughtSpot documents that Spotter Agent can send data to the LLM when admins enable it, and Spotter 3 always can; review that with your data protection team.
Data connections and live queries
Both connect to the major cloud warehouses and query them live. Sigma keeps a connection open and sends SQL to the data platform; enabling write access on a connection is required for materialisation, CSV uploads, input tables and warehouse views. ThoughtSpot Connections treat the external database as a linked data source and query it directly, but fetch unique attribute values periodically (every 24 hours by default) to power search suggestions and Liveboard explore; ThoughtSpot notes that SpotIQ and Monitor are not available on Connections.
ThoughtSpot lists a broader set of sources, including Oracle, SAP HANA, Teradata, Trino, Presto, Dremio, Denodo and ClickHouse; Sigma's list centres on cloud warehouses and the main PostgreSQL, MySQL and SQL Server family databases. Because each click or search becomes warehouse SQL in both products, it is worth checking what they generate; for example, a Snowflake query history check like this one shows which BI user drove the most compute:
-- Snowflake SQL: queries and elapsed time by user over the last 7 days
SELECT user_name,
COUNT(*) AS queries,
ROUND(SUM(total_elapsed_time) / 1000 / 60, 1) AS elapsed_minutes
FROM snowflake.account_usage.query_history
WHERE start_time >= DATEADD(day, -7, CURRENT_TIMESTAMP())
GROUP BY user_name
ORDER BY elapsed_minutes DESC; Write-back and data apps
Sigma lets users enter data, not just read it: input tables (and forms) save edits to the warehouse, which supports planning, forecasting adjustments, data corrections and approvals inside a workbook. Sigma's licence tiers reflect this, with an Act tier for people who input and update data. Write access must be granted on the connection, and the data lands in your warehouse, so plan schemas and permissions for it.
ThoughtSpot is focused on finding and explaining answers rather than capturing data. If your use case is mainly "ask, explore, monitor", that is not a gap; if it involves users editing numbers that flow back into models, Sigma's input tables are the more direct fit.
Licensing, pricing and embedding
Sigma licenses users in four tiers for organisations on the current model: View for report consumers, Act for data contributors who input and update data, Analyze for deeper analysis without building workbooks, and Build for data architects, BI analysts and report builders. Older organisations may still be on Lite, Essential and Pro tiers. Prices are not published.
ThoughtSpot publishes entry prices for Essentials and Pro, with user and row limits per plan, quotes Enterprise, and offers a usage-based credit model. For embedding, ThoughtSpot has a Developer plan free for one year (up to 10 users and 25M rows) and a quoted Embedded Enterprise plan; Sigma offers public and secure embedding with pricing through sales. For both, remember that warehouse compute is billed by your warehouse provider on top.
Pricing and licensing
Sigma Computing does not publish prices: on 7 November 2026 its pricing address showed a contact form and demo request. Cost depends on how many users need each licence tier (View, Act, Analyze, Build). Sigma Help describes a free 7-day trial with most core features, limits such as 20 user invitations and 50 exports, and no API keys or SCIM provisioning during the trial.
ThoughtSpot lists, on its pricing page (USD, billed annually): Essentials starting at USD 25 per user per month for 5 to 50 users and up to 25M rows; Pro starting at USD 50 per user per month for up to 1,000 users and 250M rows, with Spotter AI agents limited to 25 queries per user per month on the per-user option; Enterprise custom, with unlimited users and data. A usage-based option starts at USD 0.10 per credit. Embedded: Developer free for one year (up to 10 users, 25M rows), Embedded Enterprise custom. ThoughtSpot states it does not meter or charge for LLM tokens; third-party LLM provider fees may apply. Trial length is not stated on the pricing page.
Pricing checked on the vendors' official pages on 7 November 2026. Prices change; confirm before buying.
Where each one leads
Sigma Computing strengths
- Spreadsheet-style workbooks that business users already understand
- Input tables that write user-entered data back to the warehouse
- Licence tiers that separate viewers, data contributors, analysts and builders
- SQL and Python available to builders alongside formulas
- Live queries on the warehouse with governance inherited at the source
ThoughtSpot strengths
- Natural-language search and Spotter AI agents as the main way to explore data
- Broad connection list, including Oracle, SAP HANA, Teradata, Trino and generic JDBC
- Published entry prices for Essentials and Pro, and a free embedded Developer plan
- Governed Models defined in an editor or TML files
- No metering of LLM tokens, according to ThoughtSpot
Limitations
Sigma Computing limitations
- No public prices; a sales conversation is needed
- SaaS only, with no self-hosted deployment
- Short 7-day trial with limits on invitations, exports and APIs
- Every interaction runs warehouse queries, adding compute cost on usage-billed warehouses
ThoughtSpot limitations
- Answer quality depends on well-curated Models
- Spotter queries are capped on the per-user Pro option; larger plans are quoted
- Spotter Agent and Spotter 3 can send data to the LLM, which needs a data protection review
- Write-back is not a core feature
- SpotIQ and Monitor are not available on Connections
When to choose each
Choose Sigma Computing if
- Your analysts and finance or operations users live in spreadsheets
- Users need to enter or adjust data that is saved to the warehouse
- You want builders to mix formulas, SQL and Python in one workbook
- You are already on Snowflake, Databricks, BigQuery or Redshift
Choose ThoughtSpot if
- You want business users to ask questions in plain language rather than build reports
- Analysts can own and curate a governed model for search
- Published per-user entry prices help your budgeting
- You need sources such as Oracle, SAP HANA, Teradata or Trino
When neither is right
- You are on the Microsoft stack and want desktop authoring and Excel integration: see Power BI vs Tableau and Power BI vs Looker.
- You want an open source, self-hosted BI tool: see Metabase vs Apache Superset and the open source BI tools.
- You need a code-defined semantic layer with LookML: see Looker vs Metabase.
- You mostly need operational and metrics dashboards: see Metabase vs Grafana.
Final recommendation
Our editorial view: Sigma is the more direct fit when self-service means building analyses in a spreadsheet-like grid on live warehouse data, and when users need to write data back through input tables; budget for a quoted licence and a short trial. ThoughtSpot is the more direct fit when self-service means asking questions in plain language over a governed model, with AI agents and Liveboards, published entry prices and a broader connector list; budget for the modelling work and review how Spotter handles data. Trial both on the same warehouse tables with the users who will live in the product, and watch the warehouse bill during the trial.
Frequently asked questions
Do Sigma and ThoughtSpot copy my data?
Neither imports data for analysis: both query the connected warehouse live. ThoughtSpot fetches distinct attribute values periodically (every 24 hours by default) for search suggestions, and Sigma can write data to the warehouse when write access is enabled, for input tables, materialisation and CSV uploads.
How much do Sigma and ThoughtSpot cost?
Sigma does not publish prices; it licenses users in View, Act, Analyze and Build tiers by quote. ThoughtSpot lists Essentials from USD 25 and Pro from USD 50 per user per month billed annually, with Enterprise quoted and a usage-based option from USD 0.10 per credit, as checked on 7 November 2026. Warehouse compute is extra for both.
Can users write data back to the warehouse?
In Sigma, yes, through input tables, which save edits to the warehouse when write access is enabled on the connection. ThoughtSpot is focused on search and analysis rather than data entry.
Which has better AI features?
They take different approaches. ThoughtSpot is built around natural-language search and Spotter AI agents; Spotter 3 is the default for new instances. Sigma offers Sigma Assistant for plain-language requests inside workbooks. We have not evaluated the accuracy of either; test with your own data and questions.
Is there a free trial?
Sigma Help describes a free 7-day trial with some limits. ThoughtSpot offers a free trial from its pricing page but does not state its length there, and its embedded Developer plan is free for one year.
Sources
- Sigma Computing home page
- Sigma pricing (contact page)
- Sigma Help: start your Sigma trial
- Sigma Help: connect to data sources
- Sigma Help: account type and license overview
- ThoughtSpot pricing
- ThoughtSpot Cloud documentation: Connections
- ThoughtSpot Cloud documentation: Spotter versions
Checked November 2026.
How we research comparisons: our editorial method.